JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

Have computer questions/problems? I'm here to help.

This topic may get moved; I doubt this is the right sub to post it in but I wanted to reach as many as possible.

I am a computer technician and "gadget freak". If you have questions about your computer or mobile device (excluding iPhones and iPads specifically, I have limited experience with them), please feel free to post those questions here. I will do my best to help you out.

Please be sure to note your computer's brand and model number, and as precise an explanation of the problem/question as possible. I usually check in in the late evening [EST US] so please give your question 24-48 hours to get answered.

FAQ [Will expand as necessary]:

What tablet do you recommend?

If you have to ask, you should probably get an iPad. If you are invested in the Android ecosystem, then one of the better Samsungs is usually a safe bet. A lot comes down to personal preference. I advise quite strongly: don't spend less than $175. If you buy a cheap tablet, especially a sub-$100 Wal-Mart special as so many older ones do, you will only be disappointed with your experience and it will be so bad you will never use it, except when you feel like you have to to fit in with the cool kids. As for the Microsoft Surface, it is meant as a laptop replacement+tablet, so it's overkill for most as a tablet.

What tablet do you use?

Dell Venue 8 7000 Series (7840), but I don't recommend it. JW Library doesn't play nice with it, and tends to freeze constantly. A shame as it's a gorgeous tablet, but it uses an Intel processor.

What smartphone do you recommend?