JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

Pharmacy technician

I went to school for public health, but I haven't had success in finding work. I originally went for nursing, but I realized I couldn't handle bodily fluids and the stress was crazy (even though now I kind of regret not finishing.)

So I decided to take a 4 month pharmacy tech course to at least help me get a job in the medical field, but I'm not sure if it's something worth my time. Does anyone know if that's a good field? Any experiences with it?

I am a pharmacy technician, in patient at a hospital. I really enjoy it. We work under the pharmacists and dispense medications and make IVs.  It's interesting work. 

Here in the Pennsylvania it isn't regulated by the state yet, but my hospital requires I am certified and keep that current.   Where I live I make significantly more money than retail technicians, personally I couldn't deal with the people anyway. I hear horror stories from the pharmacists I work with that came from retail.   

Also, a nice thing for me is I only work 2 days a week and the hospital gives me health insurance for my family. For us that is so important because my husband is self employed and we would have to purchase it from the government.   

I know we live in different parts of the world, so I can't speak specifically.  However, I am sure the job process is similar. 

• 3 months later...

So I decided to take a 4 month pharmacy tech course to at least help me get a job in the medical field, but I'm not sure if it's something worth my time. Does anyone know if that's a good field? Any experiences with it?