JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

Due to a number of ongoing health issues one of the things I have had to do is cut gluten out of my diet.  

Now, I don't know what it is like where you live, but the texture of gluten-free bread that is made here is a cross between cardboard and rubber.  When I was in England I bought some wonderful GF bread which was almost like normal bread and although we can buy the same brand here, it is AUD8 per 350gm (12.3oz) loaf and because it is imported, it has been frozen.  However, one of the features of this bread is that it is made with sourdough, so I have done some research and I am now attempting to make my own sourdough starter so I can have a go at making my own GF bread.  

The sourdough method involves 'catching' natural airborne yeast and using that to make your bread so you don't have to use commercial yeast.  

I was wondering if anyone here has done this themselves and has any hints or tips as I am very new to this and it can be a bit hit and miss initially. 

Don't give up .. it's just around the corner.

My wife has started to make a 'starter' too today.  This is her research.  She has culled information from all over, and her experience of previous sourdough starters she has made, which were successful.

MAKING A STARTER

Choose a suitable clear container.
Make a measure on the side (in order to measure growth).
Weigh the container, make a note of this. (I've taped this to the bottom).
Begin to make your "culture", and this process can take 5-7 days or so, depending on your room temperature. (THE CULTURE BECOMES the "starter").

The guidelines here assume an a.m. beginning.
DAY 1: weigh 50g RYE FLOUR, 50g WHITE FLOUR, and mix well with 100g water. (Boiled and cooled).......YES weight is important. *
This will become what is called a 100% hydration starter.
LEAVE FOR 24 hours

DAY 2: Check for signs of life (bubbling )