JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

As a recovering tax pro, I have still done a handful of tax preps every year for friends. This year I have decided NOT to do this. Personally, my income is below the poverty line and I do not have a filing requirement. A couple of reasons:

I. A bible student who attends meetings sporadically  has Soc Security and a Pension. She told me she does not report the pension to her housing authority because                                                                     her rent would go up. True that, and I don't want to know that info. 

ii. Last year a Sis came in with years of unfiled back taxes. One was so old, I could not find the efile code I had already paid for. Since NY is an efile State, I paid                                                                             the money for her efile. She has mentioned it twice since then, but never paid back a penny.

iii. I really don't want to know that much personal info about people who may be very far behind in tax payments and living large. One of these persons charges me                                                                         for every 'favor' she has done for me.

iv. I buy the program, paper, ink, and use my electronic equipment (Computer, printer). They want multiple extra copies, for just in case. No one has ever offered me a                                                                       dime.

I'm something of a wimp and just told one person that I am not doing taxes this year. She has already called back and said she is worried about her taxes, and if she buys the program, will  I do hers. I really don't want to cave. She has several times the income that I have and can afford to go down the street and have them done professionally.  I expect to see her later today. Help.                                  p.s I haven't taken tax update courses for about ten years. 

Edited by kejedo

13 minutes ago, kejedo said: