JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

My Addiction

kejedo

I admit it: I'm a math head- started long ago. I was an early reader by conning my older sister to show me her vocabulary words. But numbers intrigued me just as much. I remember the first time I counted to 100, and was sure I got it right. Tried it again. Yes, counting to 100 was the same every time. In our haphazard family; the gentle, predictable repetition of number patterns seemed to be a place from which I gleaned consistency.

By the beginning of second grade, I was a math tutor. According to my mother, I had been offered a double promotion, but my grandmother, who lived upstairs, did not approve of such. My grandmother had learned only Italian in her family home and had to learn English when she started school. She thought keeping up with the grade level was as much as one could expect. My mother had also been offered a double promotion, but according to her, it was a no-no. 

As my mother told it, by the start of second grade, the school principal called her again and said as soon as she put out work, Pauline finished it in record time and was helping others. Somehow that exchange led to my helping with after-school math. When I got out of school, my mother would tell me who needed help with their numbers, and I left for my after school assignment. It never dawned on me that my mother may have been getting paid for it. It was ok, I tried to earn money whenever I could to help mom. She seemed always broke and complained about it, endlessly. It didn't dawn on me for many years that she spent money, daily, on cigarettes, gambling, and illicit drugs that one of her sisters accessed. She wasn't so short on money as she was long on expensive habits.