JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

What is gravity?

I'm no scientist so cannot give you a scientific explanation. There are websites which will give explanations in varying degrees of complexity, if you wish. The BBC had an image of the earth's gravity:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-12911806

I will ask one question though, Sian. If everything were to fall off, which way would it fall? ;)

I will ask one question though, Sian. If everything were to fall off, which way would it fall?

Is this something to do with the earth being in the sun's gravitational force?...which would probably mean you would fall toward the sun:sweat:

Well, we actually only fall due to gravity, so technically if the gravity disappeared, no more grazed knees and broken teeth :) but the problem is we'll start falling to the next strongest gravity force nearest to us. But then that probably presupposes that the earth is going to stay put. Thing is, it's also probably going to be dragged of to that other force, what a mess.

DISCLAIMER: The above is the unscientific ramblings of an imaginative mind.

Well, we actually only fall due to gravity, so technically if the gravity disappeared, no more grazed knees and broken teeth but the problem is we'll start falling to the next strongest gravity force nearest to us. But then that probably presupposes that the earth is going to stay put. Thing is, it's also probably going to be dragged of to that other force, what a mess.

DISCLAIMER: The above is the unscientific ramblings of an imaginative mind.

your scientific mind is as good as mine Jeremy:D

"The acceleration (also known as gravity) depends purely upon the mass of the earth and the distance the other mass is from the centre of the earth." Isaac Newton

30653=1114-gconstant.png