JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

Fantastic article about how Facebook makes people stupid!

We lock topics that are over 365 days old, and the last reply made in this topic was 4581 days ago. If you want to discuss this subject, we prefer that you start a new topic.

"Gutenberg's Revolution left us with a world that was intellectually rich. Zuckerberg's portends one that is all thumbs and no brains."

This is exactly what I have been saying for 2 years now!

http://www.latimes.com/news/opinion/commentary/la-oe-gabler-zuckerberg-20101128,0,7889675.story

Everybody close to me knows that I am the "anti-text" when it comes to text messaging. I refuse! Facebook is really nothing more, and it's addictiveness and popularity has been killing quality discussion forums across the internet and replacing them with mindless fragmented sentences.

I have a website about healthy low carb eating, nutrition, and weight loss. Come join CarnivoreTalk.com and learn more!

Some other interesting points....

LONELINESS

Despite our inter-connectedness, we're now more alone than ever.

There are more than 300 million of us in the United States, and sometimes it seems like we're all friends on Facebook. But the sad truth is that Americans are lonelier than ever. Between 1985 and 2004, the number of people who said there was no one with whom they discussed important matters tripled, to 25 percent, according to Duke University researchers.

Lonely Planet....by

Johannah Cornblatt

Switch off social networking regularly to avoid compounding loneliness, says health insurance comparison site Quoteboffin.co.uk.

It's been reported that many people in modern Britain feel lonely, prompting health insurance comparison site Quoteboffin.co.uk to suggest they look at their habits and lifestyle choices.