JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

Knitting

I've been knitting since I was 6 years old.  I switch between knit and crochet but I used to be a power knitter - could knit and put together a sweater in a weekend.  Hard to find nice yarns and decent knitting supplies anymore.  The big department stores don't carry the variety that they used to, and most people don't want anything like that handmade anymore.  So I mostly do baby stuff anymore.  I'm think I would consider myself a "dyed in the wool" kniiter!

Edited by shali

Don't live for the moment - live for the future! :D

I love to knit! My mom learned to knit when she was in her 50's and she taught me in my 30's. Mom and I both just knitted up a storm all those years until she passed away in 2001 and I just kinda lost interest after I lost my knitting partner. We didn't just  do knit and purl, we looked for stuff with a challenge, like Aran sweaters, etc. Maybe I'll have to get out my needles and get them clickin' again

I wished I had paid attention when my mom tried to teach me . She was a wonderful knitter . Beautiful "Indian" sweaters as they called them at that time. Here on the west coast they have similar sweaters knit by the native women .....I think they call them Cowachin ( sp) after the name of he band .

But I can embroider which is pretty much a dead art . I still have all the embroidery needles and silk but haven't picked up my tools to embroider in many years.

I've been knitting since I was 6 years old.  I switch between knit and crochet but I used to be a power knitter - could knit and put together a sweater in a weekend.  Hard to find nice yarns and decent knitting supplies anymore.  The big department stores don't carry the variety that they used to, and most people don't want anything like that handmade anymore.  So I mostly do baby stuff anymore.  I'm think I would consider myself a "dyed in the wool" kniiter!