JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

I really enjoy running as an amateur long distance runner. The maximum distance I ran as a child was 10 km, easy running. I started running from the age of 12-13. I liked to play soccer, basketball, volleyball. But after the army and the birth of my daughter, I abandoned running until 2020. When covid19 started, I decided to remember my childhood. I started with 500 meters. I thought I would die from running. Then I started planning and setting goals and distances. 2020 - 3 km, 5 km. 2021 - 10 kilometers. 2022 - 15 km, 2023 - 20 km. (ran 2 times)

I mean any sport you have ever played or are currently playing. School, college, family life, or are you single. Sports activities as a Jehovah's Witness, in a meeting, with friends, etc. It would even be interesting to know what sport you would like to play in the New World?

When I was in my late teens and early 20's I used to roller skate and bowl.

For a while I worked as a "floor guard" in a roller rink - you know, I was one of the guys with a whistle who helped new skaters and tried to keep order with those who liked to skate too fast. I spent most of my time skating backwards so I could keep an eye on everyone as they came toward me. Several found it was quite difficult to trip me or knock me down even though I was not a very large person ... just a solid skater.

As for my bowling, I had gotten fairly proficient at bowling and had considered going pro ... the bowling alley personnel thought I had a good chance of success. When I found out what was involved in a course to becoming pro, I decided against it, and I have never regretted that decision.

"Let all things take place decently and by arrangement."
~ 1 Corinthians 14:40 ~

I find that to keep fit, it is good to do the following:

* Sit down with a coffee at a bathing pool, and watch others swimming

* Sit down, also with a coffee, in  a fitness centre and watch others working out