JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

My own little 'perfect storm'...

They say by definition the perfect storm occurs when many things that are at odds with each other occur at the same time, I had my own little perfect storm at our last meeting.

As many of you know I am fairly new to the ASL congregation. I have a difficult time not only learning this new 'language' but not feeling like I want to take off running because all eyes must be focused upon you where they will know what you say. There are also many large TV monitors that reflect your appearance back to the audience. You must watch this monitor until you see yourself and that the camera guy has indeed focused you correctly in the frame. I will never get use to seeing myself on live cera in real time. It is very intimidating for me. Have you heard the lens adds 10pounds? It's an outright lie. It is as least 30#!!! Plus as a child I was always corrected by my mother not to talk with my hands--that is what our words are for. Already this is a lot for me to deal with for every comment.

Anyway, the conductor points at me to stand and comment. I stand with the sister seated next to me holding my mind mapping drawing up where I can glance at it and not loose my train of thought. (Mind mapping, another source of irritation for me because I want to use words not pictures)

So I catch a glimpse of myself on the three large monitors and look away towards the conductor and as I start signing I notice he is starting to have an awkward look on his face ( utto, I'm thinking to myself I am saying something way wrong and I don't know whether to continue or just sit down. Then his face is turning red and he is looking like he wants to laugh. I look down to my left to find my notes/photos and I see the sister holding the book looks like she is going to fall out of her chair with merriment. Now I super flustered and I nervously look at the monitor.