JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

Indian cuisine

I was so excited to stumble onto this subject! Indian food is my families favorite cuisine. We have one good restaurant but have been learning to cook it. What I have learned is that it is generally very healthy with a large number of vegetarian dishes. You might want to invest in the spices used for the more common dishes and then branch out. Spicy does not necessarily mean hot. The key, I have found, is to"bloom" the spices, a technique used in Indian food. Everything is not'just a curry'. There is tremendous diversity to the food. My families personal favorites are chicken tandoori, marinated in yogurt and spices and baked until crispy, Beef Royal Korma, Butter Chicken, Chicken Korma, and the most delicious bread, Naan. I prefer Kabli Naan which has died fruit and nuts in it. The slight sweet with the spice is amazing! I am still learning and just by trying recipes, not being taught by anyone that knows. My next adventure will be Biriyani. (How did I do, dilip?)

I will try to find my recipes and post them, but I also would love to try others any might have. I can't wait to visit India some day!

Proverbs 16:3  "Commit to Jehovah whatever you do and your plans will succeed."

Is one am in India here. I was about to retire to bed. Your naming the dishes has made my mouth water ,my eyes , my stomach feel hungry. :D

It is almost 1 pm here. We must be on opposite sides of the globe.

Proverbs 16:3  "Commit to Jehovah whatever you do and your plans will succeed."

I've always wanted to try true Indian cusine! I lived in apartments where they would cook curry dishes and it would make my mouth water! My husband won't try anything new so I never get to go to Thai or Indian restaurants but if I could it would be a dream come true!

Don't live for the moment - live for the future! :D