JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

Why so many words in English?

English seems to have such a large vocabulary and slang words.

I think it's because English has been divided in different versions, like British, Scottish, American, Australian..??

As different people speak English, new words are being born every day.

For example, I've been learning English for more than 2 decades but I've never known a word 'flippant.'

It might be because I only get exposed to written English, instead of spoken English.

Think about how many words will be born after 10,000 years of using Hebrew as the only mother tongue on Earth?

Will I be able to communicate with someone from the other side of the planet? : - )

English as a language has waaaay too many words. It has collected words from surrounding nations for centuries.

I expect in the New System we will all eventually speak one tounge as well as the 'pure language'.
And while we will speak a language, I expect we will still have local dialects and words, much like British, US, Australian etc 'English'.
https://wordcounter.io/blog/how-many-words-are-in-the-english-language/a58d862383e2b19723a63c9ef78fb4b4.jpg425d591b40b8d910050fba3913597fc2.jpg

Just Older

Interesting article about this question:

https://curiosity.com/topics/what-language-has-the-most-words-curiosity/

If you haven't picked up on it yet, counting words is hard work. Yes, English does have a lot of words, thanks in no small part to its hybrid origins in Romance and Germanic languages, plus its tendency to seamlessly steal words from other sources. But each and every language has its own difficulties when it comes to counting words — or, for that matter, when it comes to making up words in the first place.