JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

Worst camera you ever owned?

I have been a photographer since I was about 10 or so. I was the school newspaper photographer. I went on to work for several camera stores. During that time I have seen some pretty bad cameras in all formats come out. The worst one I had was a screw mount lens camera, I can't even remember the name. Some of the worst ones I ever seen were #1 The Kodak Disc camera series. #2 Nikon EM. #3. Mamiya NC-1000 #4 Pentax 110 SLR #5 The Kodak Handle.

The disc camera was too small to take good photos. The Nikon EM was poorly built and an embarrassment to Nikon. The Mamiya NC-1000 was one of the worst ones as it's entire line was defective. I worked in Olympia and every one I sold was bad. When I moved to Billings that dealer was selling them too. I refused to sell them and predicted they would all come back. They did! The Pentax SLR was a cool small camera, sadly it was still 110 quality, making it very overpriced. And lastly, the Kodak Handle. What made it bad was it blatantly thought it could use Polaroid technology without their permission. They lost a big lawsuit over it. And with that Kodak was out of the instant photo business. 

I love cameras and photography. If I had more room I would have room full of old cameras. And yes, I do have a Kodak Disc 6000 camera as a paperweight!

1024x771x2 Pentax 110.jpg

il_794xN.2482766856_t5rd Disc 6000.jpg

t_500x300.jpeg

Mamiya NC-1000.jpeg

49969444557_83762804c8_b Handle.jpg

“Don't judge me on my past, I don't live there anymore.”

Not sure what the worst camera I owned was ... I guess maybe it would have been the Kodak cardboard onetime use camera. It had a small, preset shutter size and speed and one roll of film. (I think they still sell these throw away cameras)