How can I delete my account?
As is common with almost all forums across the internet, we do not delete user accounts here at JWTalk. However, we can "deactivate" your account for you upon request. Simply visit the Confidential Talk forum and make a post that you would like to leave the JWTalk community.
Here is what will happen if you choose to leave: We will move you to a group called "Former Members". Accounts that get added to the Former Members group can no longer see and read anything in the community, nor have the ability to send and receive private messages. Your profile as well as your posts and replies will say "Former Member" under your name and profile photo.
You'll still be able to log in and communicate with just the Staff via the Confidential Talk forum, where you can request to reactivate your account in case you desire to return in the future. In order to view the public areas of our Jehovah's Witnesses online community, you will have to log out in order to view the community as any other unregistered guest.
Can I make all my posts disappear from the forums?
No, your posts and replies cannot be deleted. This is per the JWTalk Community Membership Policy that you agreed to when you applied for membership. This is standard practice across all forums and most social networks, because removing your contributions to a topic will make it confusing for others to follow the discussions that had taken place. Because this is the case, the software we use for our Jehovah's Witnesses community doesn't include such a mass delete function.
Can I get my account back if I change my mind?
Yes you can. When you log in again, you will only be able to see a single forum called "Confidential Talk". You can post a request in there that your account be re-enabled. Upon reactivation, you will be able to see and participate in all areas of our JW community as well as access your Private Messages.
If you have never posted or added any content at all and you abandon your account, it will eventually be deleted. A few times each year, we purge old accounts with zero posts and who have not returned in several months.