JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

Taiwanese air accident: Co-pilot one of Jehovah's Witnesses.

We lock topics that are over 365 days old, and the last reply made in this topic was 3452 days ago. If you want to discuss this subject, we prefer that you start a new topic.

My good friend Chris Lau who I studied the bible with many years ago and who finally became one of Jehovah's Witnesses died this week in a tragic air accident in Taiwan. He was working as co-pilot on the flight and is being hailed as a hero due to his efforts to minimise the impact on the ill-fated flight that crashed into a built up area in Taipei, resulting in a lower death toll than might have otherwise occurred.

Read NZ Herald article here:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11397934

post-765-0-66823600-1423274956_thumb.jpg

This photo was taken at the last Convention ever held at Eden Park, in Auckland. Chris' mum made us sticky rice for lunch.

Brother Dave, I am so sorry to hear of the loss of our brother and your dear friend Chris. I  believe I shall use this article in school and work it into a geography lesson. I have one student from Taiwan, who wants to know why the theory of evolution is not presented as a fact. Although I don't think this article will lead into a controversy about creation and the Bible, it will help me show diversity as a pilot living in New Zealand, and the bravery of Brother Lau. If I have your permission, I may print out the convention picture and mention the setting.

That would be fine Pauline.

I originally met him in Auckland when he showed an interest in studying the bible. I studied with him for several years. It was slow going because of his limited english at the time and there were very few Chinese publishers in our area back then. He spoke to others about his study and before long 3 more of his friends had joined us including his older brother.