JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

Walkie Talkies, GMRS, FRS, 2 Way Radios

I was wondering if anyone could give advice or has experience in using long range GMRS or FRS 2 way radios / walkie talkies?

Here in the US we must have a license for GMRS, but these have much longer range than FRS.

Are there any radios you recommend?

I have seen a variety of reviews and there are many different opinions, and many products state they are long range but many reviews by users explain that they could only get short ranges.

I am not experienced with such radios, so any thoughts, suggestions I will appreciate, thanks

radio GIF

"Create in me a pure heart, O God, And put within me a new spirit, a steadfast one" (PS 51:10)

I have used the RCA and Midland radios (and a Garmin unit that ( bought for GPS features).

The long-range noted on the retail packaging is maximum and optimistic.  If it says "26-miles" that would be from one mountain top to another mountain top with no obstructions, trees or buildings across a large valley.  In reality the range on such a unit might only be 3 or 4 miles in regular use.  Even less in a big city with tall buildings.

The license for the additional channels in the GMRS frequencies is just a form.  There are many options (special codes and notification sounds and so on.  You may have to change channels in more congested areas if several people are using the same as you are at the same time.  Our family uses these devices when we travel in two cars together especially is one of the groups gets out of sight.  My granddaughter used to carry one with her when she went walking in the woods near our house so she could check in with the family or respond to our call to come home.

2 hours ago, jwhess said:

Our family uses these devices when we travel in two cars together especially is one of the groups gets out of sight.