JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

Ideas for Self-Employed

Hello, all! For you, who have known my background, may know that I am frustrated with my job, working in a family business... Well, I am happy to announce that I have apply for resignation, and suprisingly the boss aka my dad said okay, though we haven't discussed the detail... :backflip:

Now, I am thinking about future job, I was a private tutor in English and Mandarin before, so the quickest way to earn should be returning to the old path. However, I have a thought if both my hubby and I can run a small business together, since he is not fluent in Mandarin and English, tutoring may not be an option... But, hey, maybe with creativity we can do that, or is there any other options?  Just collecting ideas here...

:bouncing:

I have heard some teach English live online to Chinese students. They can do as much or as little work as needed. I didn't like making all the course notes previous to each lesson. Takes twice as long, so the money is halved.
But if you have done it before, you are set to go.

Just Older

1 minute ago, TonyWenz said:

I have heard some teach English live online to Chinese students. They can do as much or as little work as needed. I didn't like making all the course notes previous to each lesson. Takes twice as long, so the money is halved.
But if you have done it before, you are set to go.

Just Older emoji856.png

Yeah, pre and post teaching work is quite a lot, but you can save it and re-teach to those similar students...

What I am trying to collect here is ideas so both my hubby and I can work together, not just by my own... In the moment, he is not familiar with the subject...

Over here none of the instructors actually speak the foreign language. We were all 'natural' English speakers. No one in our class spoke Chinese, but most were looking at teaching English to Chinese. Therefore your husband would not need to know any Chinese (or any other language).