JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

“They” Used as a Neutral Pronoun

I live in France and I am currently studying the English language and the culture and History of English-speaking countries (UK and USA mainly) in the course of my further studies. 

I had few, well none actually, opportunities to visit any English-speaking country to actually practice my English and hear with my own ears the actual usage of the language. 

I’ve always wondered if the pronoun “they” was used in a neutral way when referring to one particular person whose gender is unknown among JWs too?

For exemple saying “Someone left their bag there.” Instead of “Someone left his bag there.”

It's the sort of debate that's quite common in France since French is a gendered language and we have this infamous rule basically saying that masculine takes over in such cases when we don’t know the gender of someone we're talking about. Or when there is at least one male in a group, the whole group will be referred to with masculine pronouns.

So I was wondering how this is considered in English and mostly what JWs whose native language is English think of this and actually say.

Hoping I am in the good part of the forum, I see that as linguistics and science of language...

Edited by Romain

3 minutes ago, Romain said:

this infamous rule basically saying that masculine takes over in such cases when we don’t know the gender of someone we're talking about. Or when there is at least one male in a group, the whole group will be referred to with masculine pronouns.

Which, to make this clearer, is how we get neutral in French, but not everyone sees it like that since the masculine is used in neutral contexts.

Edited by Romain

10 minutes ago, Romain said:

For exemple saying “Someone left their bag there.” Instead of “Someone left his bag there.”