JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

Memories - List your first early HOME computer(s)

What was your first home computer (or even computer kit) back in the early days?    Or list of computers, particularly late 70's and 80's, etc.

For me:

Radio Shack PC-4 pocket computer with Basic Language

Atari 400

Atari 800xl

Atari 520st

PC's:

AMD 386-40 

Intel Pentium 486DX2-66

and many more after that...

20231202_215933.jpg

Pc:

286 with 1meg of RAM and a 40meg hard drive. It had a 1440 baud modem and VGA monitor. It had both floppy drives and DVD player I think.

I drove 40 miles to buy it from a guy for $1200. 

Edited by Tortuga
CAUTION: The comments above may contain personal opinion, speculation, inaccurate information, sarcasm, wit, satire or humor, let the reader use discernment...:D

The first computer I first used was an IBM 360 mainframe with punch cards. 

As for HOME computers, I did not have the funds to buy one when I started learning BASIC, so I used the Tandy Model I in the Radio Shack store. The manager would let me use it for as long and often as I wanted - as long as it didn't cost him sales.

The Consumer Electronics Hall of Fame: Tandy/RadioShack TRS-80 Model 1 -  IEEE Spectrum

The TRS-80 has a full-stroke QWERTY keyboard, the Zilog Z80 processor, 4 KB dynamic random-access memory (DRAM) standard memory, small size and desk area, floating-point Level I BASIC language interpreter in read-only memory (ROM), 64-character-per-line video monitor. A cassette tape drive for program storage was included in the original package.