JWTalk - Jehovah's Witnesses Online Community

Why "a Jehovah's Witness" is grammatically wrong

Hello!

I have often heard that the expression "I am a Jehovah's Witness" is wrong from a grammatical point of view. The right way of expressing it would be "I am one of Jehovah's Witnesses" or "I am a Witness of Jehovah".

Would somebody please explain the grammatical reason why it is wrong? I know I received an explanation once, but I am unable to remember or to locate it.

Actually, "a Jehovah's Witness" doesn't sound right to me, but who am I to say? :innocent:

I am no sure why it would be wrong. Let's look at it a moment.

The article "a" is singular.

The word Witness is singular.

So, if the police asked who saw a car accident would the expression, "I am a witness" be wrong?

Now, if we painted houses, not artwork, would it be wrong to say, "I am a house painter"?

If these expressions are not wrong, then why would it be wrong to say, "I am a Jehovah's Witness"?

"Let all things take place decently and by arrangement."
~ 1 Corinthians 14:40 ~

I'm not sure, but looking at it from the point of view that Jehovah is God's name, we could break it down to how it would sound if we substituted Jehovah's name (hypothetically, of course) with another name. Would it sound right if I said I was "a Cathy's witness?"

That sounds odd to me, but saying that I was a witness of Cathy would sound okay.

Just thinking out loud here. Not a grammar expert, as is obvious. I'm sure someone with more knowledge of the rules of grammar than I possess will let you know. It should be interesting. :)

I'm not a Grammar Expert either.

But, based on how it sounds sometimes works ..... sometimes not.

Most will say. "It is me" instead of, "It is I" ..... however, grammatically speaking, the latter is correct - but, somehow, "It's I" sounds odd.

According to Grammer Checker:  http://www.gingersoftware.com/grammarcheck